, ,

Adding and Removing Users to Your Google AdWords Account

How to manage your Google AdWords users

From time to time you may need to add or remove a user to or from your Google AdWords account. This could be for various reasons.

We have created a step by step guide on adding and removing user profiles to and from your Google AdWords account.

Adding New Users to Google AdWords

  1. Sign into your Google AdWords account using your administrator credentials.
  2. When you are logged in, click on the cog in the top right and select ‘Account Settings’.Adding New Users to Google AdWords
  3. On the left hand side, select ‘Account Access’ and click on the ‘+ Users’ button.
    Adding New Users in Google AdWords
  4. Under ‘Add permissions for’ enter the email address of the user you wish to give access to and select their privileges (see the bottom of this post for an explanation of account permissions).Inviting Users to Google AdWords
  5. Once you’ve entered the email address of the new user and selected their privileges, tick ‘Send Invitation’ and they will receive an email requesting the to accept.

Removing Users from Google AdWords

  1. Sign into your Google AdWords account using your administrator credentials.
  2. When you are logged in, click on the cog in the top right and select ‘Account Settings’. Google AdWords Account Settings
  3. On the left hand side, select ‘Account Access’.
  4. Next to the client manager or AdWords user you wish to delete, click on ‘Actions’.
  5. Click on ‘Terminate access’.

Removing Users from Google AdWords

 Account Permissions in Google AdWords

Setting the correct privileges for new and existing users is important. To explain the different types of privileges, we’ve overviewed them below.

‘Administrative Access’ provides access to all areas of Google AdWords. This user can receive notification emails and reports, run reports, browse Campaigns, Opportunities and access the Tools tab. An administrator can also unlink manager accounts, view and edit any part of the account such as campaigns and billing, invite new users and remove users, and grant email-only access.

Standard Access’ has the same privileges as ‘Administrative Access’ except being able to invite and remove users. This user can still grant email-only access.

‘Managed Read-Only Access’ allows the user to receive notification emails and reports, run reports, browse Campaign, Opportunities and Tools tabs, unlink manager accounts and grant email-only access.

 

Ryan Sedgwick
Managing Director & Marketing Consultant at Impact Digital Markeitng
A Chartered Marketer, Ryan has gained extensive B2B and B2C marketing experience working across a broad spectrum of industries. Having graduated with a Masters in Marketing Communications from the University of Huddersfield, Ryan successfully utilises his skills and knowledge to effectively support businesses in getting the most from their marketing investments.