, ,

Adding and Removing Users to Your Google Search Console

How do you add or remove users from Google Search Console?

Google Search Console (formerly Google Webmaster Tools) is the platform that allows you to manage your website’s progress in the search index.

By utilising Google Search Console, webmasters can submit their sitemap to Google, view the index and crawl rate, identify crawl issues and errors, view security issues and identify search traffic amongst other things.

To help you get started with sharing your information, we have listed a step by step guide on adding and removing users to your Google Search Console Account.

Adding New Users to Google Search Console

  1. Sign into your Google Search Console account using your administrator credentials.
  1. When logged in, click on the ‘Manage property’ tab against the website you want to share.

Adding New Users to Google Search Console

  1. Click ‘Add or remove users’.

Removing and adding new users in Google Search Console

  1. Under ‘Users and Property Owners’ you will see a list of existing users. Click ‘Add A New User’ in the top right. In the window enter the new user information.

User Permissions in Google Search Console

  1. Once you’ve entered the email address of the new user and selected their permissions, click ‘Add’.

Removing Users from Google Search Console

  1. To remove an existing user, sign into your Google Search Console account using your administrator credentials.
  1. When logged in click on the ‘Manage property’ tab against the website you want to share.

Removing Users in Google Search Console

  1. Click ‘Add or remove users’.

Removing Users in Google Search Console

  1. Under ‘Users and Property Owners’ you will see a list of existing users. Click the user you want to delete and press ‘Delete’ to remove the user.

Account Permissions in Google Search Console

Setting the correct permissions for users is important. To help you understand the different types of user permissions, we’ve overviewed them below.

For reference, a ‘User’ can view all data and make some actions but cannot add new users. A user must be added by an owner. In most cases this is usually the person that setup the account and verified ownership of the website, known as the ‘Verified owner’.

Permissions

‘Full’ allows the user to view most of the data and can take some actions.

‘Restricted’ has simple view rights on most data.

 

Ryan Sedgwick
Managing Director & Marketing Consultant at Impact Digital Markeitng
A Chartered Marketer, Ryan has gained extensive B2B and B2C marketing experience working across a broad spectrum of industries. Having graduated with a Masters in Marketing Communications from the University of Huddersfield, Ryan successfully utilises his skills and knowledge to effectively support businesses in getting the most from their marketing investments.